The next issue—#17—will be showcasing the winners of the inaugural The Quarry-Future Leaders Creative Writing Prize, and the best work by emerging creative writers and alumni from the Faculty of Arts.

†This prize has been enabled by the generous support of Helen Sykes OAM and Future Leaders, a philanthropic organisation that recognizes and supports the achievements of young Australians.

The winning authors and entries will be announced early September.

This year’s judges are Claire Catacouzinos, graduate – Major in Creative Writing and Master of Creative Writing, former editor of The Quarry, and current editor of The Schools Magazine; Sarah Campbell, graduate of the Master of Creative Writing, content writer and ‘Roll Your Own Adventure’ podcaster, and Aileen Westbrook, student in the Creative Writing Major, and award-winning short story writer.

Future Issues

Call-outs for new work for future issues and for our writing competitions are made through The Quarry Facebook and in iLearn student announcements in the Faculty of Arts’ undergraduate and postgraduate writing units.

Submissions are managed through

The opening date for the next issue will be mid September 2020.

We publish work by students and alumni of the Faculty of Arts creative writing, creative arts, and media courses.

Proposals for themed issues are welcome from students and alumni with experience in journal editing and WordPress. Contact Jane Messer, for more information on submitting an EOI.